High House Chapel and Weardale Museum
Built in 1760, High House Chapel holds services every Sunday, making it the oldest purpose built chapel to be in continuous weekly use. John Wesley visited 13 times, and in 1772 witnessed an incredible revival of the work of God when the 'Fires of Methodism' took hold among the lead-mining population.
The 266 members then at High House accounted for over a quarter of the membership of the whole Dales Circuit.
Weardale Museum is a small, volunteer run, independent folk museum operating to award-winning standards from the adjoining manse building. It has displays on local history, including a beautiful tapestry in five embroidered panels.
The Wesley Room contains a large collection of Methodist memorabilia, displays about Wesley's visits and the work of the early evangelists, additional information about the Primitive Methodist revival in Weardale in the 1820s and the story of the 1788 Methodist Subscription Library, set up in nearby Westgate.
A trail (in development) along Weardale and Teesdale will include the Chapel and Museum with other places of worship to tell the story of life and religion in the Dales in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Additional visitor information
Friends of the Weardale Museum
Getting there [NY874385]