Mount Zion (New Connexion) Methodist Church
The present Methodist church building dates from 1815 and replaced the original buildings of 1773, in which John Wesley preached in 1774 and 1790.
The foundation stone and the sundial decoration remain from the original building. In 1797 a small group left the Wesleyans and became the New Connexion under the leadership of Alexander Kilham (see Kilham Memorial Chapel).
At Mount Zion, the Kilhamites were very strong and expelled the Wesleyans, who met in a barn across the road. Mount Zion is the oldest Methodist New Connexion society that has constantly met.
The current chapel interior was designed in 1881 by Leeming and Leeming, who also designed the Admiralty Building interior in London. The original pew rent board can be seen in the vestry. The Belgian organ from 1892 is still mainly in working order: one of only six made by this company still in use.
Among its displays, the Church houses the Horace Hird collection of Methodist ceramics. There is a reserve collection available for study and research.
A fascinating and monumental graveyard surrounds the chapel. The (internally modernised) cottage where Wesley stayed still stands adjacent to the chapel and is available to hire for retreats and meetings.
Additional visitor information
Getting there [SE067296]